Premier League prize money: How much each team earns from their final position

Arsenal forward Kai Havertz and midfielder Declan Rice
Arsenal are pushing to win their first Premier League title since 2004 (AFP via Getty)

The Premier League is set up for a thrilling end of the season with the title race and relegation places still to be decided – and millions remain on the line for each club.

Manchester City, who are battling with Arsenal and Liverpool to win their fourth Premier League title in a row, earned a record £176.2 million for being crowned champions last season.

That record figure City received was from the distribution of funds from the Premier League’s domestic and international TV rights deals.

All 20 Premier League clubs receive a total figure based off a fixed equal share payment, a merit payment based on final league position, a fixed commercial revenue payment and a variable facility fees payment, where teams are given a sum for every time they have a match broadcast live in the

But exactly how much is each position worth in the Premier League table? Here is everything you need to know.

How much is each place worth in the Premier League?

Premier League merit payments are awarded on a sliding scale from first place down to 20th.

Clubs earn a set amount from both the Premier League’s domestic and international broadcast agreements.

Manchester City celebrate their Premier League title win in 2023
Manchester City are looking to win their fourth Premier League title in a row (Getty)

Based on the prize money distribution from the 2022/23 season, champions Manchester City received £62.3 million for finishing first.

Each place in the Premier League worth approximately £3.1 million.

Southampton, who finished bottom of the Premier League last season after a ten-year stay in the top flight, were given £3.1 million for finishing in last place.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.